The World Series

The World Series

The World Series is Major League Baseball’s annual championship between the American League Champion and the National League Champion. The winner of the 2017 World Series is determined through a best-of-seven playoff. The victor is awarded the Commissioner’s Trophy. The Chicago Cubs are the defending champions.

World Series

(Pixabay / Pexels)

Last year’s World Series was played between the Cleveland Indians and the Cubs. The seventh game ended in a 6-6 dead heat, which required an extra inning to break the tie. The final score was 8-7. The 2016 World Series was the third championship for the Chicago Cubs, but it was their first championship since 1908. The victory broke a 108-year dry spell.

This year’s Major League Baseball season started on April 2, 2017, with a tripleheader. One of the games pitted 2016 World Series champions Chicago Cubs against the St. Louis Cardinals. The MLB’s regular season will end on the first day of October with the postseason beginning on October 3. After the playoffs, the 2017 World Series will start on October 24. If there is a need for a seventh game in the series, it will be played on November 1.

An important feature of every MLB season is the All-Star Game. This year’s game was held at Marlins Park in Florida on July 11. Historically, the All-Star Game determined the home field advantage for the World Series, but that practice ended when the 2002 game resulted in a tie. Currently, the World Series home field advantage is awarded to the MLB team that has attained the best regular season record.

The World Series continues to inspire young baseball players. Fans of college and professional-level baseball teams can show their support of their favorite athletes and teams by purchasing MLB and NCAA accessories.