The 2017 Stanley Cup

The 2017 Stanley Cup

The Stanley Cup is the National Hockey League championship trophy awarded annually to the winner of the league playoffs. It is the oldest trophy for professional sports in North America, donated in 1892 by Lord Stanley of Preston, Governor General of Canada. The 2017 Stanley Cup playoffs will begin on April 12, 2017.

2017 Stanley Cup

The Detroit Red Wings did not qualify for this year’s playoffs, ending the longest active playoff streak in the NHL, which they maintained for 25 consecutive seasons. The Edmonton Oilers, on the other hand, made the playoffs for the first time since 2006.

There will be eight playoff teams coming from each conference. As of April 2, five teams have already qualified for the Eastern Conference, as follows:


  • Columbus Blue Jackets
  • Montreal Canadiens
  • New York Rangers
  • Pittsburgh Penguins
  • Washington Capitals


The Western Conference is finished, and as of April 2, the eight qualifiers for the playoff are as follows:


  • Anaheim Ducks
  • Calgary Flames
  • Chicago Blackhawks
  • Edmonton Oilers
  • Minnesota Wild
  • Nashville Predators
  • San Jose Sharks
  • St. Louis Blues


NHL fans can show their support to their favorite teams in the playoffs by buying team merchandise and accessories from Team Sports Gift. NHL products with team logos can transform any home, game room, or office into a place that will reflect a fan’s passion for the game. There are plenty of options for each playoff team, ranging from car flags to vanity license plates, area rugs to steering wheel covers, and more. All of the merchandise carries the official logo of each team, licensed by the NHL. Support your team in the lead up to the playoffs. Who knows? They may walk away with the Cup this year.