MLS Championship Series

MLS Championship Series

The top six teams from the Eastern Conference and the top six teams from the Western Conference will be playing in the Audi 2016 Major League Soccer Cup Playoffs. The regular season features 20 teams from the U.S. and Canada playing 34 games.  The team standings at the end of the season determine the berths in the playoff series.

MLS Championship Series

Playoff Format

The six teams that emerge on top of each conference qualify for the playoff series. They are to be seeded one to six, based on their aggregate performance during the regular season. The third and fourth seeds for each conference will be hosting the fifth and sixth seeds in a single-elimination knockout game.

The first and second seeds earn a bye for their respective conference’s semifinals matches. The winners with the lower seed will face the second seed in their conference’s semifinals. The four semifinalists in each conference will play an aggregate series of two games each, with lower- seeded teams hosting the first leg of the series and higher-seeded teams hosting the second leg.

The Eastern and Western Conference Championships will both play an aggregate series of two games, with the lower-seeded team hosting the series’ first leg and the higher-seeded team hosting the second.

The Major League Soccer Cup is a single championship with the finalist with the most points during the regular season hosting the series. In the event of a tie in points during the regular season, the MLS Cup Playoff tiebreakers qualification will determine the host team.

Playoffs Schedule

The MLS regular season ended on Sunday, October 23. The playoff matchups started on October 26. The semi-finals are scheduled on October 31 and November 5 and 6.

The finals are scheduled on two weekends, which are to be announced later. The MLS Championship games will most likely be held on the weekend of December 10.

Playoff Teams

The following teams remain in the playoff matches:

  • FC Dallas
  • LA Galaxy
  • Montreal Impact
  • NY City FC
  • Colorado Rapids
  • New York Red Bulls
  • Seattle Sounders
  • Toronto FC

Two of these teams will be vying for the Audi 2016 MLS Cup in December.  May the best team win.